Destination: Galveston

Remember when you were a kid and flew for the first time. Or maybe you were all grown up and tried to convince yourself there’s no reason to be scared of flying 30,000 feet up in the air. No matter the time you first flew, think back to the excitement. The rush of the thrill and wonder filling your lungs as you stared down the boarding tunnel.  Oh, or the moment you are buckled in and watched as the Bowing made it’s final turn facing the mile-long runway. And my favorite part – the takeoff. Whooooosh! Yep, every time I fly it takes me back to those memories. There are few things in life that make a lasting impression – my first flight was one of them.

 

So, I went to Texas the other week!

Specifics:

-1 Suitcase

-1 Carry-On

-Outfit: Tom’s Botas, Levi’s 511 (grey), tank-top, blue plaid casual button-up.

-1 Stop – Atlanta, GA

-Destination: Galveston, TX.

 

Let me say something – there is nothing like a warm welcome! My aunt called me 3 months ago asking if I wanted a ticket to the country called Texas with my 2 cousins and cousin-in-law (if that’s a thing). I said “Yes”. I get off the plane in Houston and am tackled by my best friend cousin Christie. After a semi-quick drive down to the lovely Galveston Island, I was quickly bombarded by my 7-year old cousin Erik, cousin Tracie and her husband (cousin-in-law) Kyle. Boom! Hello vacation.

Here’s what happened.

image (3) image (4)

image (2) photo (18)

 

Beach, grilling, sand-in-toes, good beer, GREAT wine, poker, pool, jokes, deep conversations and colorful skies paint the picture of Labor Day weekend 2014.

At the end of the weekend, I found that beautiful places and nice scenery isn’t the destination. At the heart of all adventurous travel itineraries is the desire to experience the love of the unknown and discover life’s great mysteries.

So here’s to you Monsieur and Madame Traveler. You inspire me and I look forward to the day I join you at the table of the 7-Seas. Next stop…India?

 

Leave a Reply

